Reviews

7.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
6.8
Property location
8.6
Facilities
6.2
Staff
8.0
Value
6.9

Reviews

    nz

    Review score

    7.1
    23 May 2018

    A little creepy but overall good

    The foyer has a very eerie feel to it but the actual room was fine, and our room was in need of renovations but I understand they’re in the process of renovating the whole place gradually.
    The room was comfortable and the location was perfect, good value for money.
    Andries
    nz

    Review score

    8.3
    22 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    shirley
    nz

    Review score

    9.2
    21 May 2018

    It is a nice and affordable hotel which located in a excellent location.

    There is no lift there, you have to carry the luggage upstairs which is a chanllange for my parents age. Not really convenient. And no one there to help. The wall, the ceiling was not in good condition as well. The shower room can be really slippery when it is web. It is a bit chanllange to get the shower at right temperature.
    It is a very old hotel, but my parents and I like the atmosphere there. They have a nice spa pool. The bed is really comfortable. The heater works well.
    chontelle
    nz

    Review score

    3.8
    20 May 2018

    overall very disappointing and would not recommend.

    We booked the deluxe suite for the weekend. Checked in and got no rundown on where things were and what there was to offer. Hotel is very old and run down the room smelled like a wet dog. one of the blankets on the bed had hair on it. The bathroom was very old and very small. we were told there was buffet breakfast in the mornings from 7am onwards. next morning went into the restaurant to find no one there. waited 10 minutes and a woman come out only to tell us there was no buffet but we could order off the menu. we ended up having to leave as this made us late for our caving tour. The hotel is very old and has a lot of history. it was a real shame to see such a beautiful hotel completely let down. some sort of information about it and some good customer service would have made it more enjoyable. We paid for a deluxe suite and that is not what we got. this was so disappointing!
    Good location
    Paul
    nz

    Review score

    5.4
    20 May 2018

    Not good for disabled people

    Access and amenities
    Not much
    Bruce and Sally
    nz

    Review score

    7.1
    20 May 2018

    A tired hotel in need of renovation, however the staff were very friendly and happy

    Miriam
    es

    Review score

    5.8
    18 May 2018
    The hotel is old and it need a some new carpets and forniture.The staff is not very friendly.The standard room is too small.The photos are not real.
    The hotel is very near to the caves .The bed was very confortable and the shower was good.
    nz

    Review score

    7.9
    15 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Bora
    au

    Review score

    5.8
    14 May 2018
    It was different from the pictures on the website.
    The staff was so great and they helped me to charge our car’s battery.
    Hawiki
    nz

    Review score

    8.3
    13 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Geoffrey
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    12 May 2018

    Good but sad to see it in this condition.

    Having been there a long time ago the place was very run down the carpet was in very poor condition the whole place needs to be tidied up the bathroom was tiny and needed upgrading no shelf space and we needed to put our things on the floor.
    The staff were very helpful and the room was comfortable and the restaurant served good meals.
    Ria
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    12 May 2018

    The Waitomo Caves hotel is a real icon of NZ. A pity it has been allowed to deteriorate.

    We booked 2 rooms, one was recently renovated the other was musty, smelly and yuk. No flannels in bathroom.
    Reasonable rates, nice location, lovely walks
    Jart
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    12 May 2018
    Merryn
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    12 May 2018
    Don't stay here if you are looking for modern luxury . But it was a fantastic old building . We had a very nice dinner and the staff were lovely.The views were fantastic.
    Michael
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    12 May 2018

    Faded but comfortable elegance in the heart of Waitomo.

    The double room had only one chair - but another one was found for us when we asked.
    There was an excellent restaurant, for breakfast and for dinner. This hotel is right in the heart of Waitomo, with access by steps to the Information Centre and other eating places. Slightly faded elegance, but a comfortable place to stay.
    Emelza
    nz

    Review score

    5.8
    12 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paul
    nz

    Review score

    7.1
    12 May 2018

    Adequate for what we needed.

    Hotel a bit tired looking in some areas more than others.
    It suited our requirements. Close to where we were going and suitable for us and our grandchildren.. Nice dining room and fireplace.
    Aaron
    nz

    Review score

    9.6
    9 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Rachel
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    19 May 2018

    Not worth $ unless you like paranormal stuff - nothing happened to us though !

    This place looks NOTHING like the pics online. When we pulled up it was actually quite creepy and rundown. The entire place is run down! The bathrooms needs major work! Old tubs , leaking , mold ! NO lock on inside of doors - there used to be a chain but looks like broke and no chain there anymore. The staff appeared to be very nice . And the biggest thing is we didn’t know they filmed all these ghost things - apparently it’s known as the most haunted place in NZ!! So anyhow def don’t go there unless u are into ghost stuff ans want to experience that. It’s not worth it for $ too rundown. I would suggest driving somewhere else. Also jacuzzi only open 5-9pm? And it’s hard to find any good food places around. We found Roseland - good food and super nice owners ! Go give them your biz while u are there !
    It was in a good location - close to caves
    Anvidha
    in

    Review score

    7.1
    16 May 2018

    Decent stay in need of a makeover

    This place is in a serious need of a makeover. Its a pretty old property!
Loading reviews