This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

7.3 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
6.9
Property location
8.6
Facilities
6.3
Staff
8.1
Value
7.0
Reviews
    Alan
    nz
    7.9
    18 February 2018
    ok for the cost
    room was a little small,and the hotel could do with a spuce up
    clean room,food on site,friendly staff,
    au
    7.9
    18 February 2018
    Excellent location for caves hotel ok for one night stay
    The hotel was a little old and needs to be refurbished
    It was perfect location right next to the caves
    Bridie
    au
    10
    16 February 2018
    Beautiful old hotel
    I was very nervous about this place as the day before I read all very bad reviews about it. When we got there the place was beautiful on the outside and the gardens were very well looked after. Our room was very clean, carpets were fine, windows opened there was a fan and no bugs - maybe we just got lucky with our room - was a King room and room number 15. It was a very lovely place with a lot of history and was very beautiful - didn't try the spa so can't comment on that - would definitely stay there again!
    ca
    8.8
    16 February 2018
    I would recommend this hotel.
    Beer selection could have local/craft choice.
    Great location, historic interest, friendly staff. Very comfortable.
    yin
    cn
    9.2
    16 February 2018
    Too many insects
    quiet, good location
    Ann-Maree
    au
    6.7
    15 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Neil
    gb
    5.0
    14 February 2018
    Dilapidated place in serious need of refurbishment or shutting down
    Needs total refurbishment, it’s very neglected, paint peeling off ceiling in our room, threadbare carpets, ants everywhere in room, bathroom ancient and window rotting, hot and cold water v hard to balance. Not worth $150 or anywhere near that. Needs investment to do it up and charge more or shut it. Could be a lovely place with some TLC. Find somewhere else if you can for Waitomo Caves.
    Nothing really, location convenient but chose elsewhere if you can
    Michael
    ca
    7.1
    14 February 2018
    Good location ... Above average restaurant ... Facility in need of repair
    Some of the hotel is noticeably run down
    Need to invest in some basic upkeep
    Jody
    nz
    7.1
    14 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Charlotte
    gb
    2.5
    14 February 2018
    Really Horrible.
    Everything could have been better, the room was tiny clearly a single not a double, it was dusty and hadn't been cleaned properly. The last time it had been decorated must of been the 1970's it was so dated and the walls were flaking from the paint peeling off. What followed was the worst nights sleep in a long time I felt like I was doing a bush tucker trial from I'm a Celebrity get me out of here. We didn't open the window because of bugs yet so many bugs were already in the room, beetles, flys, crickets you name it we had it, several times I woke up during the night because a bug had fallen on my pillow or was in my hair, we complained early in the day but were told that they were fully booked and just gave us some fly spray. I felt like I was in a horror spoof film as it felt like one hideous joke.
    Nothing it was the worst hotel I have stayed in, in my whole life.
    Topo71
    ca
    3.8
    13 February 2018
    Shinning part 2
    I can't believe some of the reviews.. this is a 1 star propertay at best. While the location is perfect and the staff nice, the words "renovated" on the web site must have been written 70 years ago. The place is dated, falling apart and other than location, the only redeeming quality is the staff.
    Friendly staff and a great location but..
    Joscha Feth
    au
    5.4
    13 February 2018
    Not worth the stay, friendly staff can't make up for the hotel itself.
    Unfortunately the hotel is not well kept. Probably because the owners and the company running the hotel are different. The pictures on booking.com do not reflect the current state of the hotel, they are probably years, maybe even decades old. The "spa" are two mouldy, unkept whirlpools.
    Beautiful location with a nice, calm back garden
    Karen
    au
    8.8
    13 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Fabrice
    au
    5.0
    12 February 2018
    Needs a massive overhaul. Wallpaper peeling off walls. Carpets had holes and stains. Everything creaks.Need a paint job
    Beautiful old building.Great location and views
    Tony
    nz
    6.2
    12 February 2018
    disappointing result from the pictures on the booking site
    The delivery vans outside the bedroom window at 6am, banging doors and very noisy. No availability of tea and coffee. No wifi. We were sat having drinks in the bar area and the staff came along and turned off the table lamps at 10pm clearly indicating that they wanted us to leave.
    The restaurant food was excellent and the staff throughout were very friendly.
    george
    gb
    6.2
    12 February 2018
    Good location but that is about it
    Room felt a bit tired with peeling wallpaper. Bathroom was very dark with next to no lights. Wifi was so slow it was pointless. Restuant had a small selection and was very pricey.
    Great location to town and the caves.
    Michelle
    nz
    7.5
    11 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    nz
    4.6
    11 February 2018
    Urgent updating needed
    Needs urgent maintenance and updating.
    Nicholas
    au
    5.0
    10 February 2018
    Could not get out of there quick enough!
    Takes old world charm to the next level. This place has so much potential if it was given a little bit of love. The place was clean but in desperate need of repair with peeling wallpaper, worn carpet and water damaged laminated surfaces - signs of some seventies and eighties upgrades that does not do the property justice. We expected old - just not worn out!
    Peter
    gb
    5.8
    8 February 2018
    One night is enough
    Standard room, flakey ceiling in bathroom, free cobwebs on the windows, musty smell in corridors
    Though it looks good from outside , inside needs a lot of t.l.c. Though staff were friendly the building itself needs a lot of renovation to it to justify its prices. The standard room is what it says, even though it’s over a hundred yrs old ,it’s no excuse for the way its fell below par of other hotels I’ve stayed in that were a hundred yrs or more older for the same or less price. It’s ok for a 1 night stay but that’s it. Sorry hotel owner but you need to take a close look at your property before it gets beyond rescue.
Loading reviews